RESUME

so I wait for you like a lonely house till you will see me again and live in me. Till then my windows ache

– Pablo Neruda, (seen here)

Lovely little quotation there. Completely irrelevant, but lovely nonetheless.

Apologies for a failure to blog, what with one thing and another – and what is it that they say? – Do something everyday for twelve days, and it becomes a habit. And it has become a habit to not blog, which I am amending now…

The drama societies at the university hold an annual ball, in order that we can all celebrate our thespian achievements, dress up to the nines (fancy dress is MANDATORY), and get ever so slightly inebriated. The theme this year is MYTHS and LEGENDS. And so I have been doing a little research…

 

You Are the Greek Goddess Demeter

You are an Earth Mother, provider of delicious food and beautiful children. You prefer the company of the young, but you have a decided wanderlust, which makes being tied down lead to periods of depression. You are conscientious, law-abiding, and spiritual.
This, according to a quiz on About.com (take it yourself here) is the goddess with which I share the most qualities… Slightly doubtful about this one, though, considering the less than inspiring picture!

One of my thespy friends has Welsh roots, and inspired me to look up some Welsh legends… Perhaps I could dress up as a gwillion?

One account of a species of gwyllion refers to them as ugly female spirits that are usually described as wearing ash colored clothing with an oblong four-pointed hat, and usually carrying a pot in one hand. They also are known by their disturbing laughter and their cries of “Wb!” . They are said to live in mountainous areas and love to mislead travelers or scare them. However, if one of these gwyllion in disguise enters your home and is treated right, it is believed they will do no harm. These gwyllion are supposedly repelled by metal knives, and a flash of a knife is thought to usually be enough to send them away.

All these options seem somewhat unfeasible.

Queen Mab?

She is the fairies’ midwife, and she comes
In shape no bigger than an agate stone
On the forefinger of an alderman,
Drawn with a team of little atomies
Over men’s noses as they lie asleep

– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

What particularly grabbed me was the legendary creature Gamayun – a prophetic bird of Russian folklore, with a human head. But perhaps this is a little too Black Swan?

I could go on all day. I won’t, but if you have any suggestions, please let me know on the talk to me page… And I will continue to ravage the internet for helpful and unhelpful nuggets of folklore!

Thoughts?

