Synthesised enthusiasm

Another essay to write. ANOTHER ONE, you ask? Another one. Procrastinating with a vengeance and experimenting with both long-forgotten pieces of classical music and new remixes, in an attempt to motivate the mind into creating a half-worthy attempt…

Adiemus – Adiemus

Adiemus – Benedictus

Florence + The Machine – Hurricane Drunk – Horrors Remix

Jack Penate – Pull My Heart Away (Jamie xx Remix)

I wish it were green again… Pretty fresh in Warwickshire at the moment; the sunshine is lovely but the skin on my fingers still cracks in the cold. Spring soon, let it be soon!

Why not have a little look at this poem, written (I think!), by one of my good friends (source here). It cheered me up in the dirge of the morning!

i·ro·ny1    /ˈaɪrəni, ˈaɪər-/

[ahy-ruh-nee, ahy-er-] 

–noun, plural -nies. 

1. 

the use of words to convey a meaning that is the opposite of its literal meaning.
My brain, my literal brain
Trains
Linking, connecting, crossing
Wires of meaning.
Ironic.
New stanza.
Pause.
“You look nice today”, she said
With a faint smile.
Ironic.
New stanza.
Pause.
Is is ironic that this poem is not ironic?
Or is it?
Is it ironic that we ask
This?
Oh fleur, des fleurs that are mocking me
With
Pink
Purple
Yellow Snow.
Don’t eat
Don’t touch
Don’t do that
Whatever, man.
The emo has spoken.
Like the Dinosaurs
We will one day
Fade
Into Fossils.
You.
Who study my bones
Will you understand
Why
I am missing
My Funny Bone?
And in place
I have
A Rod of Iron
-y.
Are you laughing?
Stop.
Don’t laugh.
Pause.
Just look in the mirror
And tell yourself
“I look nice today”
With a faint smile
On your face.
Beginning.
Please note that the formatting of this poem hasn’t transcribed properly – please see the link for the original version!

Just a few little gems of something-ness on a Wednesday afternoon!

Thoughts?

